Seasons of an Ephemeral Stream

A  brook murmuring in a Michigan woods leads a fragile existence.  I returned last weekend to this spot, where I took this photo in the spring rush of  early June, and found the stream’s course was barely more than a trickle of water and a path of dark,  damp earth among the ferns and skunk cabbage.  Yet, it was enough to refresh a fawn who stopped for a drink before skittering off through the trees at the sight of an intruder.

kensington park, michigan

Brook in Michigan woods

 

5 thoughts on “Seasons of an Ephemeral Stream

    1. Tom Schultz Post author

      Thanks so much. 🙂 This was taken in a woodland park which is only about an hour’s drive from Detroit. Someone had the foresight to set aside this land back in the 1930s. I visit there several times a summer.

      Like

      1. Embracing a Wounded Soul

        Thank goodness for protected reserves! I’d be visiting several times a summer as well. I’m sure by now you know how much I adore my hikes through nature. It’s gorgeous 🙂

        Like

Comments are closed.