Memories like Waves Lapping Ashore

Warren Dunes Lake Michigan

A summer’s drive through the forest primeval  of Michigan’s Upper Peninsula led me to renew acquaintances with Lake Superior, following our separation of decades. On a remote beach, the smallest of waves lapped ashore, and the cobalt blue inland sea reached the horizon to the east and north. As ghosts from behind an attic door, wisps of memories slipped out. My thoughts returned to a train trip with my mother on the legendary Canadian Pacific Railway, and a boy staring in wonder into the inky black night, the great cliffs of the Canadian Shield brooding over Superior’s dark waters.  And of breakfasts in the dining car with white linen on the table and a waiter with a Quebec accent, the train wheels clattering over the rails, a small lake appearing suddenly out of the tractless forest, a ghostly mist rising off the dark brown water as gaunt pines watched. As quickly as they had surfaced, the boyhood memories disappeared back into the cobalt blue Superior, leaving the man to contemplate the years gone by and feel the spirit of renewal.

12 thoughts on “Memories like Waves Lapping Ashore

      1. Abhijit

        You are very welcome… Please do make some time to visit my 100th article… Trust me you won’t be disappointed because it tell almost everything I did on this blog( cool stuff) 😜

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder

    Beautiful description, Tom. It took me back to my childhood days, I used to stare at the inky black nature out there, whenever we travelled by night, be it train or car. I liked that black shapeless darkness with lights here and there as eyes of some nocturnal creatures.

    I think you should write more often, because you write very well. I remember that story of the lady, too, I read here earlier….. 🙂

    Like

    1. Tom Schultz Post author

      Thanks, Maniparna, for your encouraging words about my writing. I think I agree with you that I should write more. If my story took you back to your childhood days, what more could I ask for as a writer? It’s also interesting what you say about our affinity for the night.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.